Councilmembers Sworn In

Posted on Tuesday April 13, 2021

After the acceptance of the April 6th election results, returning and newly elected City Council members officially took office during the Monday, April 12th City Council meeting.  Brian Bunch, Councilman-At-Large, John King, Precinct 20 and J.W. Hanes, Precinct 21 were sworn in and took their oath of office.

The City has maintained a vacancy in the Mayor’s position since Mark Guffey resigned in February 2021.  This vacancy occurred after the deadline to file for elected office and could not be placed on the April 2021 ballot.

The citizens approved a change to the City’s Charter which allows for an appointment process to fill vacancies in elected office.  John King was recommended for appointment and confirmed as the next Mayor of Pleasant Hill.  Mayor King will serve in this role until April 2022.  As a result, the Precinct 20 Council position is vacant, awaiting a Mayoral appointment.

Council member Tria Cartner will serve as Mayor Pro Tempore and will remain the Council liaison to the Park Board.  Council member Brian Bunch will serve as the Council member on the Planning and Zoning Commission.

council swear in 4-21

You might also like...